The Iron Lady

I recently watched the movie “The Iron Lady”, on the life of Margaret Thatcher. I was intrigued as she was Prime Minister during my childhood when I lived in Northern Ireland.

I was too young to really remember much of the issues that were portrayed in the movie that happened within the United Kingdom, except perhaps the violence involving the IRA. I found the movie to be very insightful regarding some of the tough moves her government had to make during her time in office.

There was a scene in which PM Thatcher said something I thought quite profound, so I quickly Googled it so I would remember what she said;

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Watch your words, for they become actions. Watch your actions, for they become habits. Watch your habits, for they become your character. And watch your character, for it becomes your destiny. What we think, we become. My father always said that. And I think I am fine.”

 It really is a powerful statement she made and it reminded me, “we reap what we sow”, as it say’s in Galatians 6:7-10

“7 Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. 8 Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. 9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. 10 Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.”

What a good reminder that our thoughts have power, ideas or thoughts must first form in your mind before they are seen in our actions. Think about the power of the habit of really reading the word of God and daily meditating on it, allowing it to consume your thoughts and from there the Godly character that is formed in us becomes the destiny God desires for each one of us.

This entry was posted in Contemplative Prayer, Inspiration, Prayer Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Iron Lady

  1. Jennifer Wilton says:

    Great movie and great quote. I’ve been soaking in the Word concerning having the MIND OF CHRIST & much revelation has come through this. I preached about it last Sunday and God brought a powerful word. The mind of Christ is our identity- which is why there is such a war- spirit vs flesh- for the rule of our mind.
    Thanks for the blog! Bless you!

    • nhop says:

      Thanks Jennifer, I was really surprised that they had so much “conservative” political ideals come through so clear in the movie. I guess thats why there was some film reviewers that were really not happy with it. She was a great leader in a tough time, and that is a great quote indeed!
      Blessings,
      Robb

Leave a comment