Humility in Prayer

By: Jeremiah Smith

I was reading out of Isaiah 6 yesterday and  I was struck by my own humbleness and, in contrast, Gods immeasurable mercy.  In one instant God removed the iniquity of Isaiah.  When the coal of the altar touched Isaiah’s’ lips, he was cleansed and his sins atoned for.

It reminded me that my only boast is in Christ (Gal. 6:14).  It’s not what I can do, but what he has done for me.  I am completely humbled.  Our culture has strayed from humility, the word and practice increasingly taboo.  It is no longer seen as a virtue to be humble.  Yet, if we are to be effective followers of Christ, we must be humble.

In regards to humility and prayer, E.M. Bounds writes this in The Essentials of Prayer,

“Humility is an indispensable requisite of true prayer. It must be an attribute, a characteristic of prayer. Humility must be in the praying character as light is in the sun. Prayer has no beginning, no ending, no being, without humility. As a ship is made for the sea, so prayer is made for humility, and so humility is made for prayer…

The pride of doing sends its poison all through our praying. The same pride of being infects our prayers, no matter how well-worded they may be. It was this lack of humility, this self-applauding, this self-exaltation, which kept the most religious man of Christ’s day from being accepted of God. And the same thing will keep us in this day from being accepted of him.

O that now I might decrease!

O that all I am might cease!

Let me into nothing fall!

Let my Lord be all in all.”

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Prayer Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

