Free us from safe prayers

by Richard Long,

  My daily readings in the Celtic Daily Prayer guide brings me to a prayer/poem by Amy Carmichael.  I read a number of her books way back when I was a student.  I remember being inspired by her life and especially her work in India.

.

.

From prayer that asks that I may be

sheltered from winds that beat on Thee;

from fearing when I should aspire;

from faltering when I should climb higher;

from silken self, O Captain, free

Thy soldier who would follow Thee.

.

From subtle love of softening things;

from easy choices, weakenings.

Not thus are spirits fortified;

not this way went the Crucified.

From all that dims Thy Calvary,

O Lamb of God, deliver me.

.

Give me the love that leads the way,

the faith that nothing can dismay,

the hope no disappointment tire,

the passion that will burn like fire.

Let me not sink to be a clod;

make me Thy fuel, flame of God.

  – Amy Carmichael (1867-1951)

This really does challenge me.  How many of my prayers are really just meant to keep me safe and protected, so that I don’t have to take up my cross and follow the Crucifed One?

This entry was posted in Inspiration, prayer, Prayer Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

