Faithful to the End – Jeremiah Smith

by Jeremiah Smith (a member of our NHOP team who is at Succat Hallel in Jerusalem)

It’s been amazing being involved in 24/7 worship  & prayer.  However, the flip side  is that sometimes you’re praying at times that you wouldn’t “normally” choose.  One such time has been the 9-12pm set that I do a couple of times a week.  Anyone who knows me well will know that I’m a premature old-man and prefer to be in bed long before midnight!  So those 3-hour shifts can sometimes be challenging but often, as happened last night, they’re blessed times of intimacy with God.

Last night as I prayed and worshiped, I continually came back to the love of God.  It wasn’t the kind of children’s love, “Jesus loves me this I know”, but rather the intimate love of God;  ”For your Maker is your husband— the LORD Almighty is his name.” (Is.54:5)

As I started singing Faithful to the End, I was overcome by the words,

“He’s faithful to the end/He will come and marry me”

In a world where there’s so much unfaithfulness we have the promise that Jesus– the King of kings, and Lord of lords– will return.  Paul, in his 1st letter to Timothy writes, “… that you keep the commandment with without stain or reproach until the appearing of our Lord Jesus Christ, which he will bring about at the proper time”.

We, the Church, are the Bride of Christ.  He will return for He said, “I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.” (Jn 14:2-3)

And lastly,

“Let us rejoice and be glad and give him glory! For the wedding of the Lamb has come, and his bride has made herself ready” (Rev 19:7)

“”Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (Rev. 21:3-4)

He will return.  May we be ready, filled with the love of God.

Shalom

(Check out Jeremiah’s other blogs and the video that he refers to in this post.)

This entry was posted in 24-7 prayer, Israel, NHOP People, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

