Saint Patrick’s Breastplate

by Richard Long

There are many versions of this prayer sung by wonderful artists.  Just do a youtube search and you will soon be quite overwhelmed.

I like this version sung by Lindsay Posko, because of the simplicity of the arrangement, the beautiful voice and the great visuals.

We pull out the words for this prayer, (also known as the Lorica) quite often in our quiet prayer times here at the National House of Prayer.  We also like the David Ruis version which has been recorded on various albums, though my favourite is the one he does with Indigika.

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me,
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, prayer, Prayer Life, Prayer Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saint Patrick’s Breastplate

  1. kwokying says:

    Thanks Richard, beautiful.

  2. badansdill says:

    This beautiful piece, sung by Linsday Posko from our worshp service in Tucson, Arizona (Catalina United Methodist) was composed, arranged, and recorded by Rob Resetar. Rob is an amazing and talented musician, and he performs regularly with the CornerStone band at ‘The Refuge’ worship at CUMC. Thanks for posting this video and song, it is a wonderful work in praise of God.
    Chris Dansdill

Leave a Reply

