For Unto Us a Son is Given …

by Richard Long,

  I was asked to be a guest preacher at a local congregation here in Ottawa yesterday.  Being Christmas Sunday, the challenge before me was to speak about this grand theme. 

  Fortunately I had been inspired by listening to Handel’s Messiah earlier in the season, so I chose as my text the prophecy of Isaiah from chapter 9:1-7, especially focusing on the 4 names of the royal child: Wonderful Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

  I began my message by playing an audio version of the relevant portion of The Messiah.

Here it is on Youtube performed by the London Symphony Orchestra.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Worship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

