Magnificent – U2

by Richard Long,

Now for something completely different …

Some of my friends got to go to the U2 concert last week in Toronto. If I had been there I would have been waiting for the new song from their most recent album that is titled “Magnificent”.

There are some really interesting songs on the “No Line on the Horizon” CD but so far my favourite is this one that is quite a strong worship song. Not everyone appreciates U2, but any honest appraisal would have to admit that Bono and boys are quite overt in their faith as they write their songs.

Here’s the lyrics from Magnificent…

Magnificent
Songwriters: Clayton, Adam; Eno, Brian; Evans, David; Hewson, Paul; Lanois, Daniel Roland; Mullen, Laurence;

Magnificent
Oh, oh, magnificent

I was born, I was born
To be with you in this space and time
After that and ever after
I haven’t had a clue only to break rhyme
This foolishness can leave a heart black and blue, oh, oh

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love can heal such a scar

I was born, I was born to sing for you
I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up
And sing whatever song you wanted me to
I give you back my voice from the womb
My first cry, it was a joyful noise, oh, oh

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love can heal such a scar
Justified, till we die you and I will magnify, oh, oh
Magnificent, magnificent, oh, oh

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love unites our hearts
Justified, till we die you and I will magnify, oh, oh
Magnificent, magnificent, magnificent

© POLYGRAM INT. MUSIC PUBL. B.V.; UNIVERSAL MUSIC CORP.;

This entry was posted in Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

